I’ve Been Watching and I Want to Rob Your House

I've Been Watching and I Want to Rob Your HouseToday, we can’t be too careful about who we let into our homes. We make it easy for others to follow us and find out our routines and schedules.

Burglars are smart and they know what they are looking for.

Some things your burglar won’t tell you:

Your flowers tell me you have good taste. I can’t wait to see what’s inside.

I look like an ordinary guy, maybe with a clip board or some lawn equipment.

A loud TV or radio is a better deterrent than an alarm system.

I always knock first. If you answer, I’ll ask for directions. If you don’t, I’ll try the door knob. Sometimes I get lucky.

I’ve been in your house before. You let me use your bathroom last week. When I was in there I unlocked the outside door.

I always check your dresser drawers, bedside table and medicine cabinet.

I don’t take a day off because of bad weather.

I won’t have time to break into your safe, but I will take it with me if it’s not bolted down.

I love when you leave blinds open at night so I can scope out your house.

I’ll get in through the window you left open, to let some fresh air in.

Although, I’m not keen on houses with dogs, if your dog doesn’t go crazy when I come to the door I will be able to make immediate friends with him. I bring a handful of dog treats. No dog can resist chunks of steak thrown out into your yard. I’ll get past him in no time.

You make it so easy for me when you leave your car parked outside, unlocked in front of your house. I can just reach in and grab your garage door remote. I will use it later to get into your garage and then just go through that door that you leave unlocked between the garage and the house.

Little old ladies love me because I can be so helpful and I’m such a smooth talker.

I found out that you were leaving town by checking your Facebook and Twitter status. Your regular posts let me see exactly where you’re visiting and how long you’ll be gone.

Burglars may watch houses that are for sale. Realtors should be sure that buyers are pre approved before looking at properties. And, listing agents should be especially aware of who is looking at their open house.

Remember to be careful. Don’t automatically open the door to just anyone. We’ve got to be so careful who we’re letting in our homes and how much information we post online. You could be putting the key to our house in the wrong hands.

Visit Please Don’t Rob Me

Visit Please Rob Me to find the dangers of over sharing online.

Melbourne FL Real Estate, Sandy Shores, Realtor

Leave a Reply

