The Deadline is Quickly Approaching, Have you Filed for Homestead Exemption?
If you purchased a home in 2014 and you will be living in it as your primary residence, then you must file for Homestead Exemption for the first time to receive the exemption.
When you own a home in Florida, and live in it as your primary residence, then Florida law typically allows you a $25,000 tax exemption on the assessed value of the property. If you purchased the property in 2014, then it is time for you to file for homestead, as it doesn’t automatically transfer to a new owner, at the start of the new year. An application must be filed. After that, the exemption automatically renews, if you remain eligible.
Homestead exemption may allow a Florida homeowner a savings of approximately $450 on their yearly tax bill. And, with Amendment 1, many homeowners may be entitled to an additional $25,000 in exemption for a total of $50,000 in exemption on the assessed value of their property. Thus, allowing approximately an additional $240 savings on their tax bill.
New homeowners may apply for homestead between January 1 and March 1, for the first time. You must have purchased your home prior to December 31, 2014. If you do not file by March 1 you may lose your rights to homestead for that year. You should complete an application (Form DR-501). It must then be submitted to the property appraiser’s office. The pdf form can be found on the BrevardCounty Property Appraisers website.
In order to apply for homestead for the first time, an owner must have moved into the home prior to January 1, 2015 and it must be considered your primary residence. With the completed homestead application an owner must provide:
1. Florida Driver License or Florida ID card.(with your new address on it)
2. Florida vehicle registration
3. Brevard County Voters Registration card
4. Social security number or social security card
5. If not a US resident, a Resident Alien Card
6. A copy of the trust, if the property is in a trust. The recorded deed to the property.
If you would like additional information on Homestead Exemption check the link on the Brevard County Property Appraisers Website. Be sure to check to see if you are eligible for other exemptions. Once you have filed for Homestead Exemption, it should automatically renew each year. You will receive a card in the mail at the beginning of each year. If you have a question, contact the Brevard County Property Appraiser’s office.
Sandy Shores Melbourne FL Real Estate Broker
Brevard County Real Estate