It’s the People that Make a House a Home

When you buy a property, you are buying a house, a building made from bricks or blocks, wood and nails. It is the people that move into the house that make it a home; their home.

We grow together and raise a family in our home. Often we get married and have our first child in our home. We watch that baby take their first steps and say their first words in that home. We share the joy of our accomplishments, and in turn we comfort each other in sadness and sorrow. That home becomes so much more than just a building with four walls. It holds those precious moments for us; the good times, as well as the bad. We learn to grow. It somehow becomes a part of who we are.

It’s the friends, the long nights of playing Nertz and Charades… It’s the unforgettable shaving cream fights, the pool parties and the holiday dinners. Those great times make a house a home. (It took days to wash all of the shaving cream out of my eyes, ears and hair.)

Every home has a different smell, a different “feel” to it. Some are warm and homey, while others may seem cold and uninviting to an outsider. But, it’s the place we come back to, even if just in our memory. We sit down and rest our head at the end of a long day and we feel safe. For so many, our pet greets us at the door. It’s a place where we can be ourselves; where we can share our lives with those that know us best and love us the most.

So often, we see people that have become emotionally attached to their homes, because of all of the memories it holds.

Today, I still remember the warmth and love I felt when we went to my Grandma Mae’s.  She would squeeze me tight. Sometimes I thought I was going to break. And, she would pinch my cheek till it turned a rosy red. She told me never to forget how special I was. And, she would press a couple of dollars into the palm of my hand. My sisters and I would run across the street to the beach and play in the sand. We would stick our toes in the water with the waves beckoning us to come in for a swim.

Today, the house is gone, replaced by a bustling 5 star high rise hotel and parking lot, overlooking the tourist filled beach with the sparkling waves of the ocean, lapping at the shore. It saddens me to think that the house is gone and so is Grandma Mae.  But, the memories will last a lifetime.

I will never forget the love and the warmth I felt when I visited Grandma Mae’s home.

It’s the love, the fun, the memories and the people that make a house a home.

Search Brevard County Real EstateMelbourne FL Real Estate, Sandy Shores, Realtor

Sandy Shores, Broker

M & M Realty of Brevard, Inc. 

Residential, New Construction, Relocations & Investment

Brevard County FL Real Estate 18 Years

Brevard County FL Resident 39 Years 

Melbourne FL Real Estate / Brevard County FL Real Estate

Serving Melbourne, Palm Bay, Suntree, Viera, Rockledge, Cocoa,  Merritt Island, Titusville, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa Beach, Satellite Beach, Indian Harbour Beach, Indialantic & Melbourne Beach

___________________________________

321-253-4545 or 321-254-2964

Recommendations

SandyShoresMelbourne@hotmail.com 

Visit my website

Google +

      Let me Sandy Shores Melbourne FL Realtor that for you

Sandy Shores Active RainSubscribe to my Blog - Sandy ShoresSandy Shores Facebook AccountSandy W Shores TwitterSandy Shores FlickrSandy Shores Linked In profile 

Leave a Reply

