Recalculating, Recalculating, Recalculating…Self Destructing in 10 Seconds!

 

RecalculatingA couple of days ago I was working outside of the office, showing homes to out of town buyers. It was their first time to the area.  We had about 7 houses on the list to look at that day.  I really wanted to be sure to show them around so they could get an overall feeling of the beautiful area in Melbourne Beach Florida that we live in.

Before I left my office I programmed my GPS for the 7 houses that we were planning to view that day.  They were all within about 5-7 miles of each other.  Now, anyone showing houses knows that a hundred things can happen between you and those 7 houses you want to look at…we don’t and can’t always show them in the order we anticipated at the beginning of the day.  There are so many other things that can grab the buyer’s attention first.

My GPS has a sweet feminine voice, and her name is Sam.  Funny, my younger daughter’s name is Sam.  What a coincidence!  But, I understand that on some you can change the setting for a man or a woman’s voice.  Personally, I wanted a man named Sam.  A tall, dark, handsome man with a strong, masculine deep voice (okay, I’m getting off topic here ).  But, mine does not allow me to reset the voice.

So, we were driving along, and something caught the buyer’s eye.  So I kept going, past the house I was going to be showing…and Sam (my GPS that is) piped up with, “RECALCULATING”

RECALCULATING…TURN NOW ON FIRST STREET

10 more seconds…..“RECALCULATING…TURN NOW ON SECOND STREET”....

10 more seconds ‘HEY YOU…LADY DRIVING….YOU MISSED YOUR TURN…YOU ARE NOT LISTENING!’ 

‘RECALCULATING, RECALCULATING, RECALCULATING…

Is it my imagination, or was Sam losing her temper?

10 more seconds…‘HEY YOU DRIVER, TURN THIS CAR AROUND OR I WILL HAVE TO GET BEHIND THE WHEEL AND TURN THE CAR AROUND FOR YOU!’

It sounded as if Sam was going to blow a fuse.

10 more seconds…’OKAY, LADY DRIVER, YOU’RE GOING TO GET LOST!’

Isn’t there a volume button on this thing?

I was thinking about throwing Sam, the GPS out the window!

10 more seconds…’LADY, YOU’RE LOST NOW, I TOLD YOU SO!’ 

I think that by this time Sam was about to self destruct!

I had to turn Sam off…and guess what?…we did get lost…we missed our turn, only by one block.

Oh, if only I had gotten the one with the  dark haired, dark eyed, 6’2″ tall masculine voice…I bet he would have been much nicer!

 

It kind of makes you wonder, what is this world coming to, when computers are telling you where to go?

AND THEIR INSTRUCTIONS ARE CORRECT!

Sandy Shores Melbourne FL RealtorThis article is authored by Sandy Shores, Melbourne FL REALTOR.

South Brevard County, Florida Space Coast.

Leave a Reply

