‘I Don’t Care if Buyers are Qualified or Not, I Want Anyone That Wants To, To See My Home!’

 

I went on an appointment to speak with a seller about professionally marketing her home for sale. 

I met with this kind gracious elderly woman that had lived in her home for nearly 30 years.  She had lost her husband and her house was filled with exquisite antiques. My recomendation to her was to have a large percentage of her hierlooms packed up, and stored away someplace.

She had a quaint, comfortable, nicely maintained home.  It was in the $150,000 price range. If priced properly I did not see a problem with marketing and selling the home for her.

I spent time going over my marketing plan, so she would understand what I would be doing to get her home in front of as many qualified buyers and as many buyers agents as possible.

I got to the preapproved and prequalified section of my marketing plan.  I explained to her that it is important that we be sure that buyers that look at her home be preapproved to buy in that range.  Now, mind you, I understand that there are always exceptions to every rule – an investor that can’t decide if he wants to pay cash or to finance a portion of the purchase.  A buyer with over 50% down.  I understand that.

However, I also understand that over the past several years we have found agents that are putting buyers in their cars that are unable to qualify to purchase a home at this time or any other time in the near future.  So, I indicated to her that I did not want buyers coming in that could not qualify.

My concern also was that she was a much older woman with a house full of beautiful furnishings.

When I told her we would be showing the house to only preapproved buyers she was taken aback. 

She looked at me in disbelief!  I explained to her what I meant and that we must be cautious of who is coming through the home and I didn’t want to waste her time.

‘NO!’  I will not agree to that, ‘ABSOLUTELY NOT!’

“I’m not sure that I understand.” I responded.

‘I want every single person that wants to look at my house to come in and look at it! Period!  End of discussion!’

“But,” I tried to respond. I wanted to be sure she had understood what I was proposing.

‘NO, DIDN’T YOU HEAR WHAT I SAID?’

“Perhaps you don’t understand,” I attempted to proceed on.

NO, I think that it is you that doesn’t understand!’  She was quite adamant!  Her mind was made up!

‘I told you NO!’

I was a bit unsure how to proceed, but I did, with obvious tension in the air. I had never had a seller tell me they wanted anyone and everyone tracking through their home, no matter what!

I finished up with the presentation and kept it short. I asked if she had any questions.

‘I will not have you, nor anyone else tell me who will or will not come through my home.’

“I understand,” I responded, as I knew that she was not going to hear anything else about it.

I do have to admit, I did think back over the situation more than once.

Two weeks later the home was listed for sale, with another agent, at another company for nearly $200,000.

Ouch, at that price I would never have been able to sell it!

I felt sad for the woman!

 

Sandy Shores Melbourne FL RealtorThis article is authored by Sandy Shores, Melbourne FL REALTOR.

South Brevard County, Florida Space Coast.

All information is believed to be accurate, but is not warranted.

Leave a Reply

