Everyone Loves A Great Deal, And Make Sure They Know They’re Getting A Deal!

Everyone loves a deal
Everyone loves a deal

Today is the community garage sale in our neighborhood here in Melbourne Florida.

It brings out many early birds that love to get those great deals you can’t find anywhere else.

Who can resist digging through someone else’s junk?  Don’t they say, that one man’s junk is another man’s treasure? 

Our streets are filled with bargain hunters.

I love to find a great deal at a thrift store or a garage sale. And I have to admit, my absolute favorite price tag is FREE!  Although, I seldom find the time to get out to garage sales.

Years ago, my husband and I were liquidating our antique business and decided to get rid of the last of our inventory. We placed an ad in the local paper.  We had hundreds and hundreds of people turn out. It was an absolute mob scene.  We had people come around to our large back room, which had a separate outside entrance.   The room was stuffed with items.  At some points in the day we had over 30 people there at a time, and had to limit the people coming in at once.

We had an incredibly successful day.

My husband loved it! He loves being around people and he turns everything he does into some kind of fun! That’s what I love about him!

Several times that day I ran inside for a moment, to take a phone call or to get a drink of water.  Funny thing was that each time I came back into that room, filled with bargain shoppers, the room would grow absolutely silent when I walked in.  Everyone would stop and look at me, with a little chuckle.  It appeared that the joke was on me, and I didn’t know why.

What’s going on?” I whispered to my husband.

“Oh nothing,” looking like the cat that swallowed the canary.  As a lady nearby giggled.

I noticed that each time I walked out my husband had at 3-4 people surrounding him, handing him money, in a hurry.

Finally, I asked out loud, “Okay what’s going on?” Because I knew my husband wasn’t going to ‘fess up anytime soon.

A hush came over the room, as many started to giggle.

My husband looked like he got caught with his hand in the cookie jar.

A neighbor lady piped up with, ‘He said that everytime you walk in the house, it a blue light special, and everything is 50% off!’ 

Uh-oh,” my husband blurted, “the gig is up, Now she knows, no more blue light specials!” 

“OHHHHHHHHHHHH,” the customers resounded.

WELL, IT’S NO WONDER WE MADE SO MUCH MONEY THAT DAY!  EVERYONE LOVES A DEAL!  AND MAKE SURE THEY KNOW THEY’RE GETTING A DEAL – IT’S JUST TOO HARD FOR A BUYER TO RESIST!

My husband found the perfect marketing tool to move out many of those unwanted items!

I suppose it really is all about one thing, isn’t it ….. PRICE!

One thought on “Everyone Loves A Great Deal, And Make Sure They Know They’re Getting A Deal!

  1. […] Sandy Shores wrote an interesting post today onEveryone Loves A Grat Deal, And Throw A Gimmick in too?Here’s a quick excerptToday is the community garage sale in our neighborhood here in Melbourne Florida. It brings out many early birds that love to get those great deals you can’t find anywhere else. Who can resist digging through someone else’s junk? … […]

Leave a Reply

